The Formula E Drivers’ Club has been extended by three more members and makes a total of 27 drivers who each are given a chance to test drive the fully-electric race car during public test days, which are likely to be held early June. Youngsters Nathanaël Berthon, Kuba Giermaziak and Ryo Hirakawa join a list of drivers that have previously experience in Formula 1, Indycar and other respected championships.

The 24-year old Berthon from France is a former French Formula Renault 2.0 champion and has experience in the Formula Renault 3.5 and GP2 Series, in which he won a race in Hungary last season. Hirakawa is a rising star from Japan, who turns 20 on Friday 7 March, and started his motorsport career in Formula BMW, before winning five races in the Formula Challenge Japan and became Japanese Formula 3 champion in 2012. Last year he contested in Super Formula and tested Indycar.

The Polish 23-year old Giermaziak is a front runner in the Porsche Supercup. “The ability to participate in such an innovative project as Formula E is not only a great honour, but also a huge opportunity for my development,” reads a statement on his website. “Electric cars may be the future of motoring. The more I am proud to have been chosen to part of a small group of drivers: the testers of this modern technology. From a sporting point of view, it will, I hope, be extra mileage that will also benefit my preparation for upcoming season.” However, Giermaziak focusses on racing in Porsche Supercup and the United Sportscar Championship in the United States.

FIA Formula E Championship – Drivers’ Club line-up (total = 27):

Daniel Abt (GER)
Christijan Albers (NLD)
Jaime Alguersuari (ESP)
Marco Andretti (USA)
Nathanaël Berthon (FRA)
Sébastien Bourdais (FRA)
Alex Brundle (GBR)
Sebastien Buemi (CHE)
Karun Chandhok (IND)
Ben Collins (GBR)
Conor Daly (USA)
Robert Doornbos (NLD)
Kuba Giermaziak (POL)
Lucas di Grassi (BRA)
John R. Hildebrand Jr. (USA)
Ryo Hirakawa (JAP)
Ma Qing Hua (CHN)
Narain Karthikeyan (IND)
Christian Klien (AUT)
Katherine Legge (GBR)
Vitantonio Liuzzi (ITA)
Nicolas Minassian (FRA)
Franck Montagny (FRA)
Takuma Sato (JPN)
Bruno Senna (BRA)
Oriol Servia (ESP)
Adrien Tambay (FRA)

Tim is co-founder of and works in international motorsport. He found his passion for sustainable racing by joining world's first competition for hydrogen electric vehicles in 2008. He does not doubt on the possibility of a break through of electric racing. And that deserves a platform to keep up to date and to interact. Tim operates on behalf of Formula Blue Media.


  1. Yeah, great news…

    Unfortunately the polish driver on the photo is Patryk Szczerbinski 😉 not Kuba Giermaziak. BTW Patryk is no longer with Verva Team.


Please enter your comment!

Please enter your name here