The FIA World Motor Sport Council decided in Marrakech, Morocco, on Friday that the FIA Formula E Championship event in Rio de Janeiro will be cancelled at the original date. Besides the breaking news, other details about the fully-electric championship have been confirmed.

As in most series, both drivers and teams are scoring points in order to acquire the title of Formula E Champion. Drivers must hold at least International Licence Class B plus a specific FIA E Licence issued after completing a seminar about the safety aspects on racing in electric vehicles.

The championship doesn’t have to worry if one event would be cancelled as the minimum number of events that are needed to be held in according to score point is 6. A maximum is 12. Points for both titles will be awarded at each Event according to the following scale:

1st: 25 points 6th: 8 points
2nd: 18 points 7th: 6 points
3rd: 15 points 8th: 4 points
4th: 12 points 9th: 2 points
5th: 10 points 10th: 1 point

Pole position: 3 points
Fastest lap: 2 points

All the ten teams have been confirmed by the FIA Motor Sport Council. And each driver will use two cars. Colours of race numbers will be imposed and different between the two cars available for each driver. Testing with Formula E cars is not permitted for drivers and competitors participating in the championship, with the exception of official tests organised by the promoter.

Limitations during the season concerning the cars:
• Tyres will be limited to five (5) new front tyres and five (5) new rear tyres per event.
• Each team must have a maximum of 12 operational staff working on the cars.
• Each driver shall use no more than one motor, one gearbox and one battery pack per car for the entire season.
• To charge the cars, only energy supplied by the supplier designated by the event organiser and approved by the FIA shall be used during the event.
• Special attention has been paid to all safety requirements and prevention systems.

The teams and their drivers have limited time to get familiar with the new street courses. One single free practice session of 60 minutes will be held, followed by a single qualifying practice of 90 minutes which is divided into four groups of five cars each.

The grid will be in a staggered 1 x 1 formation and the rows on the grid will be separated by eight metres with the pole position in the place designated by the FIA Circuits Department. No formation lap will taken place and the race length is maximum 60 minutes with minimum one pit stop for changing cars. This change of cars will take place inside the garage after a safety procedure similar to the one applied in the FIA World Endurance Championship for repairing cars.

New manufacturers
The FIA Formula E Championship is designed to be an open championship, meaning that different cars according to the regulation may enter. A timetable for a ‘Call for Expressions of Interest’ from new manufacturers was set out by the FIA Motor Sport Council as well. The launch of the procedure is to take place on 1 September 2014, and a deadline for the submission of applications has been set for 31 October 2014.

Tim is co-founder of and works in international motorsport. He found his passion for sustainable racing by joining world's first competition for hydrogen electric vehicles in 2008. He does not doubt on the possibility of a break through of electric racing. And that deserves a platform to keep up to date and to interact. Tim operates on behalf of Formula Blue Media.


Please enter your comment!

Please enter your name here