The FIA Formula E Championship has uploaded a video about the developments of the electric racing series so far. From the launch of the car, to the first tests, assembly of the cars and launch of the operational centre at Donington Park circuit.

But of course, the story goes much beyond these milestones. Here is an extended overview:

09-2011: FIA launches Formula E Championship
08-2012: Alejandro Agag lands promotorship role, series to start in Rio
11-2012: Car: Spark Racing Technologies has been born, producer of the cars, (42 cars)
12-2012: Calendar: Rome second signed city (but didn’t make it)
01-2013: 1st team: Drayson Racing
03-2013: 2nd team: China Racing
03-2013: Calendar: First eight preliminary cities: Beijing, Buenos Aires, London, Los Angeles, Miami, Putrajaya, Rio de Janeiro and Rome
05-2013: Car: First render of the new Spark-Renault SRT_01E Formula E car
05-2013: Calendar: Bangkok revealed as candidate city
07-2013: Calendar: Berlin confirmed to host tenth city race
07-2013: 3rd team: Andretti Autosport
08-2013: TV: FOX Sports announced as first broadcaster,
09-2013: Car: Unveiling of the Spark-Renault SRT_01 in Frankfurt
09-2013: 4th team: Dragon Racing
09-2013: Calendar: Provisional calendar: no Rome, Rio or Bangkok, but Punta del Este, Hong Kong and Monaco instead
10-2013: 5th team: Dams, backed by Alain Prost
11-2013: 6th team: Super Aguri, backed by Aguri Suzuki
11-2013: Business: EY research: Formula E contributes to 77 million additional EV sales
11-2013: 7th team: Audi Sport ABT
11-2013: Car: First successful track test completed
11-2013: 8th team: Mahindra
12-2013: Calendar: Presentation of the inaugural calendar: Rio is back, Hong Kong disappeared
12-2013: 9th team: Virgin Racing, backed by Richard Branson
12-2013: 10th team: Venturi, backed by Leonardo DiCaprio
12-2013: Business: Formula E acquires 21 million dollar investment
01-2014: Car: First public demonstration of the car in Las Vegas
02-2014: Car: Formula E tests maximum 200 kW battery power for the first time
02-2013: Drivers: Daniel Abt and Lucas di Grassi to race for Audi Sport ABT Formula E Team
02-2014: Car: First 1000 test kilometres completed
03-2014: Calendar: Beijing track revealed
03-2014: Car: Jarno Trulli tests Formula E
04-2014: Calendar: Rio de Janeiro event cancelled
04-2014: Calendar: Putrajaya track revealed
04-2014: TV commentary team: Dario Franchitti, Nicki Shields, Jack Nicholls and Robert Llewellyn
05-2014: Drivers: Jaime Alguersuari and Sam Bird to race for Virgin Racing
05-2014: Business: 50 million euros investment secured
05-2014: Formula E opens operational centre at Donington Park
05-2014: Calendar: Long Beach track revealed
05-2014: Drivers: Karun Chandhok and Bruno Senna to race for Mahindra Racing
05-2014: Drivers: Franck Montagny to race for Andretti Formula E
06-2014: Teams: Teams completing first shakedown
06-2014: Teams: Jarno Trulli takes over Drayson Racing entry

TV overview: FOX Sports, TV Asahi, ITV, CCTV
Drivers overview: including all 40 members of the Formula E Drivers’ Club

For a complete overview of all Formula E news and rumours, check the category overview here.

Tim is co-founder of and works in international motorsport. He found his passion for sustainable racing by joining world's first competition for hydrogen electric vehicles in 2008. He does not doubt on the possibility of a break through of electric racing. And that deserves a platform to keep up to date and to interact. Tim operates on behalf of Formula Blue Media.


Please enter your comment!

Please enter your name here