The third pre-season test day of the FIA Formula E Championship at Donington Park was concluded by Sebastien Buemi setting the best time in the e.dams-Renault outfit. The Swiss driver completed a 1:31.910s, which narrowly beat the previous best time from last week by 0.063 seconds set by Audi Sport ABT’s Lucas di Grassi on Friday.

“Today has been good and very productive but it’s not about trying to set the fastest time, it’s about getting a better understanding of the car and the different mapping settings”, said Formula 1 tester Buemi. “The car has been reliable all day and the team have done a good job. It’s great to be in a car that you can rely on and know you can push when you need to. We still have a few issues to work on but overall it was a productive session.”

Earlier on the day, both Audi-Sport ABT drivers were also on top of the timesheets with Lucas di Grassi ending third on the overall scoreboard. Good news came from China Racing. Jerome d’Ambrosio, who is keen to race in Formula E, showed good performance and just missed the top spot by 0,125 seconds. The team also announced a cooperation with Tongji University to develop a powertrain for season two and to recruit talented young engineers.

While most teams were running smoothly, the Andretti Autosport engineers had some work to do. Driver Franck Montagny went off track, crashed and did not resume testing.

FIA Formula E Championship
Day 3, Donington Park – Test Results (Combined Times):

1. Sebastien Buemi, e.dams-Renault, 1:31.910s
2. Jerome d’Ambrosio, China Racing, 1:32.035s
3. Lucas di Grassi, Audi Sport ABT, 1:32.260s
4. Stephane Sarrazin, Venturi, 1:32.462s
5. Jaime Alguersuari, Virgin Racing, 1:32.495s
6. Nicolas Prost, e.dams-Renault, 1:32.671s
7. Bruno Senna, Mahindra Racing, 1:32.809s
8. Sam Bird, Virgin Racing, 1:32.858s
9. Daniel Abt, Audi Sport ABT, 1:32.875
10. Jarno Trulli, Trulli, 1:33.165s
11. Oriol Servia, Dragon Racing, 1:33.844s
12. Karun Chandhok, Mahindra Racing, 1:34.249s
13. Michela Cerruti, Trulli, 1:34.538s
14. Scott Speed, Andretti Autosport, 1:34.871s
15. Mike Conway, Dragon Racing, 1:35.643s
16. Katherine Legge, Amlin Aguri, 1:35.936s
17. Fabio Leimer, Amlin Aguri, 1:36.184s
18. Franck Montagny, Andretti Autosport, 1:39.568s

Tim is co-founder of and works in international motorsport. He found his passion for sustainable racing by joining world's first competition for hydrogen electric vehicles in 2008. He does not doubt on the possibility of a break through of electric racing. And that deserves a platform to keep up to date and to interact. Tim operates on behalf of Formula Blue Media.


Please enter your comment!

Please enter your name here