The all-electric FIA Formula E Championship has officially revealed its race day timetable. As published in June, two 45 minute practice sessions are held in the morning, followed by qualifying from noon local time. The race starts at 16:00 hours.

Qualifying will be divided into four groups of each five drivers. The starting order of the drivers will be determined by a lottery systems. Each group has ten minutes of track time. Each driver may use only one car and is able to use the maximum 200kW of power.

The distance of all races will be a minimum of 60 kilometres and lasts one hour plus one lap maximum. At least one mandatory pit stop will be made by the drivers in the box. A reference time for the mandatory change of cars will be published for each race, taking into account the time it takes to drive from the pit entry to the pit exit including change of cars. Tyres won’t be changed and charging isn’t allowed. All cars will race on power-saving mode resulting in 150kW of power output.

Fanboost will be allocated to the three drivers who have received the greatest number of votes on the Formula E app and on social media. For each of their cars, the winning drivers will receive a boost of power exceeding 170kW (up to 200kW) in one shot for five seconds. The three drivers will be notified fifteen minutes before the start of the race.

Drivers will score points using the standard FIA system of: 1st = 25pts, 2nd = 18pts, 3 = 15pts, 4th = 12pts, 5th = 10pts, 6th = 8pts, 7th = 6pts, 8th = 4pts, 9th = 2pts and 10th = 1pt. Three points will be awarded to the driver securing pole position, whilst the driver setting the fastest lap receives two points.

Afternoon gap
There will be no Formula E track action during three hours in the afternoon. Not all details about a side programme have been revealed. What we do know is that from January 2015 (Buenos Aires round), students will showcase and race their own built electric vehicles during race day. The official name for this programme has yet to be revealed, but it will be organised in cooperation with Greenpower Trust. This organisation runs numerous of student events in the United Kingdom.

FIA Formula E Championship – Race day timetable:

08:15 – 09:00 Non qualifying practice 1
10:30 – 11:00 Non qualifying practice 2
12:00 – 12:10 Qualifying group 1
12:15 – 12:25 Qualifying group 2
12:30 – 12:40 Qualifying group 3
12:45 – 12:55 Qualifying group 4
16:00  RACE (laps depended on circuit)
Tim is co-founder of and works in international motorsport. He found his passion for sustainable racing by joining world's first competition for hydrogen electric vehicles in 2008. He does not doubt on the possibility of a break through of electric racing. And that deserves a platform to keep up to date and to interact. Tim operates on behalf of Formula Blue Media.


Please enter your comment!

Please enter your name here