Jean-Eric Vergne impressed by acquiring pole position for the FIA Formula E Championship race in Punta del Este, Uruguay. The Frenchman lost his Formula 1 seat recently, but recovers quite well in the all-electric racing series. It was his first outing in Formula E, representing the Andretti outfit. He pushed for pole in the first out of four qualifying groups and even brushed the wall. Nobody was able to beat his time.

eDams Renault racing driver Nicolas Prost and Sebastien Buemi came close to the time of Vergne but they eventually took third and fourth place as Nelson Piquet jr. improved to second in the third group.

Not only Vergne touched the wall, many drivers found it difficult to keep the car far away of slippery sand. As the track is located directly alongside the beach, sand will be an issue in the race. A few drivers became a victim, like Putrajaya race winner Sam Bird going into the wall. The Virgin Racing driver will start the race from the back of the grid as he was unable to set a lap time. The same goes for Jerome d’Ambrosio. The Belgian touched the wall and brought his car back to the garage. Stephane Sarrazin made a pirouette while going into the chicane.

Jaime Alguersuari (Virgin Racing) starts from sixth on the grid with Beijing winner Lucas di Grassi (Audi Sport ABT) alongside him.

“I wasn’t expecting that I would get pole position,” Vergne said. “And I don’t know what to expect from the race as many things will be new for me. Take that driver change for example! We’ll see where it goes from here and hopefully we can take a podium or a win home.”

The race starts at 16:00 hr local time. Follow it live with timing and multimedia updates at our LIVE page. Streaming is available via the official Formula E app in selected territories or watch it on TV.

Update: Bruno Senna has been excluded from qualifying after the team was working on the car within five minutes of the start of the session. He will start at the back of the grid.

FIA Formula E Championship – Punta del Este ePrix – Qualifying

  1. Jean-Eric Vergne, Andretti, 1:15.408s
  2. Nelson Piquet, China Racing, 1:15.530s
  3. Nicolas Prost, e.dams-Renault, 1:15.722s
  4. Sebastien Buemi, e.dams-Renault, 1:15.842s
  5. Jaime Alguersuari, Virgin Racing, 1:16.053s
  6. Lucas di Grassi, Audi Sport ABT, 1:16.108s
  7. Jarno Trulli, Trulli, 1:16.144s
  8. Nick Heidfeld, Venturi, 1:16.225s
  9. Daniel Abt, Audi Sport ABT, 1:16.374s
  10. Karun Chandhok, Mahindra Racing, 1:16.416s
  11. Oriol Servia, Dragon Racing, 1:16.811s
  12. Antonio Felix da Costa, Amlin Aguri, 1:16.865s
  13. Stephane Sarrazin, Venturi, 1:17.025s
  14. Antonio Garcia, China Racing, 1:17.653s
  15. Salvador Duran, Amlin Aguri, 1:17.810s
  16. Michela Cerruti, Trulli, 1:20.206s
  17. Sam Bird, Virgin Racing, no time set
  18. Jerome d’Ambrosio, Dragon Racing, no time set
  19. Matthew Brabham, Andretti, no time set
  20. Bruno Senna, Mahindra Racing, disqualified
Tim is co-founder of and works in international motorsport. He found his passion for sustainable racing by joining world's first competition for hydrogen electric vehicles in 2008. He does not doubt on the possibility of a break through of electric racing. And that deserves a platform to keep up to date and to interact. Tim operates on behalf of Formula Blue Media.


Please enter your comment!

Please enter your name here