Sebastien Buemi claimed victory at a thrilling Monaco ePrix, amid a chaotic first lap crash, to become the first Formula E driver to win two races and the only to convert pole into a race win.

His lights-to-flag victory around the streets of Monte Carlo saw the Swiss driver beat both Lucas di Grassi and Nelson Piquet JR, who became entangled in a close battle over second and third.

Sam Bird took a well-earned fourth, fending off Jerome D’Ambrosio who came home fifth for Dragon Racing.

Nico Prost finished where he started in P6, ahead of Stephane Sarrazin who took much needed points for Venturi at its home race.


Scott Speed battled back from drama at the start to take a solid eighth place, as Charles Pic and Amlin Aguri’s Antonio Felix da Costa completed the top 10.

Buemi started the 47 lap race from his second pole position of the season, ahead of championship leader di Grassi and D’Ambrosio, who had recorded his best qualifying of the season in third place.

A perfect getaway from Buemi saw him lead into Turn 1 ahead of Di Grassi and D’Ambrosio, before a collision on the run to the harbour chicane caused chaos and brought out the safety car.

Daniel Abt smashed into the wall, which created a domino effect as Bruno Senna dramatically flipped airborne over the top of German, before a plethora of cars got caught up in the drama.


The incident saw the Andretti’s of Jean-Eric Vergne and Speed collide and Salvador Duran and Tonio Liuzzi suffer damage, while Jaime Alguersuari and Senna where eliminated on the spot as the safety car was deployed.

There were a number of drivers who benefited from the hectic start, with Sarrazin gaining three places to move up to fifth from P8, while Felix da Costa and Karun Chandhok avoided the mayhem to leap into 10th and 12th respectively, despite starting from the back.


Following three laps behind the safety car, racing resumed as Piquet closed onto the gearbox of third placed D’Ambrosio, before he launched an attack down the inside of the harbour chicane to take third from the Belgian the next time round.

After 20 laps the top seven were separated by just four seconds with the pit window closing in, while Bird found a way past Prost into St Devote for sixth place. Meanwhile just behind a battle commenced over eighth between 2004 Monaco GP winner Jarno Trulli and Nick Heidfeld.

Di Grassi became the first of the frontrunners to pit, as he attempted to undercut leader Buemi, who followed suit on the next lap. As Buemi and Piquet returned to the track from their stops on Lap 27, Di Grassi managed to maintain second ahead of Piquet but narrowly missed out on taking the lead – both the Brazilian and Buemi squeezed each other into the harbour chicane, with the latter maintaining his slender advantage.


A great pit stop for Bird allowed the Brit to move up to fourth place, as the Virgin racer squabbled over third with Piquet. An attempted pass on Piquet into Turn 1 saw three cars wide on the start finish straight, as D’Ambrosio latched onto the back of the pair in fifth.

Felix da Costa forced his way past Pic for eighth, as Speed took advantage to snatch ninth from the NEXTEV China Racing driver just seconds later.

During the final 10 laps Piquet closed in on di Grassi in the fight over second, as Buemi continued to stretch his lead out front. Only one point separated the Brazilian pair heading into Round 7 and the two could not have been any closer as they frantically battled over second and third.

Backmarkers threatened to ruin the race for Buemi on the last lap, but the 26-year-old held his nerve to score his second victory of the series and move himself up to second place in the championship standings – four points off title rival di Grassi.



Please enter your comment!

Please enter your name here