The FIA has revealed the names of the 10 teams which have been validated to enter the registration process for the second season of the all-electric FIA Formula E Championship.

As announced, Virgin Racing will now become DS Virgin Racing following its partnership with DS Automobiles. Audi Sport ABT will be renamed to ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport team after the technology partner stepped in. Team Aguri seems to lose its title sponsor Amlin and perhaps, as rumoured, the insurance company might partner another team. The teams’ registration will be officially verified after July 24, 2015.

Alejandro Agag, CEO of Formula E, commented: “After our successful inaugural season, it’s very positive for the championship to have 10 teams registering for season two, several of which have backing from leading manufacturers. This clearly shows the strength of the series and we’re already looking forward to getting preparations for next season underway.”

The 10 Formula E teams:
ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport
Andretti Formula E Team
Dragon Racing
DS Virgin Racing
Mahindra Racing
Team Aguri
Trulli Formula E
Venturi Formula E

Tim is co-founder of and works in international motorsport. He found his passion for sustainable racing by joining world's first competition for hydrogen electric vehicles in 2008. He does not doubt on the possibility of a break through of electric racing. And that deserves a platform to keep up to date and to interact. Tim operates on behalf of Formula Blue Media.


Please enter your comment!

Please enter your name here