Lucas di Grassi is the new FIA E championship leader. The Brazilian from Team ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport won convincingly the chaotic race for the electric powered cars in Putrajaya, Malaysia. Daniel Abt completed the good result with seventh place, which means the German squad now leads the team classification.

After a mistake in qualifying, which included swiping the wall heftily, di Grassi started from only sixth on the grid. Thanks to several bold overtaking manoeuvres, a perfect pit stop and precise guidance from the pit perch, the South American finally celebrated his second victory in Formula E.

“I’m overjoyed. Today’s race was the best example that Formula E is not just about pure speed, but also about perfect teamwork and the ideal strategy as far as energy and temperature are concerned,” says Lucas di Grassi. “We did everything right which merits a proper party. Nevertheless, we won’t rest on our laurels: we are heading in the right direction, but we want to be even better so we can keep fighting at the front.”

Team mate Daniel Abt moved up through the field from tenth on the grid, before a technical problem while swapping cars dropped him down the running order. “As I wanted to start the second car there was suddenly no energy,” explained Abt. “I lost at least 20 seconds – if you subtract these at the end, I could have been spraying champagne as well. When all is said and done, the points are some consolation. It could have been worse, but could have been so much better.”

After two of eleven races, Lucas di Grassi leads the drivers’ standings with 39 points ahead of Sébastien Buemi (Renault) and Sam Bird (DS Virgin).

VIAABT Schaeffler Audi Sport
Tim is co-founder of and works in international motorsport. He found his passion for sustainable racing by joining world's first competition for hydrogen electric vehicles in 2008. He does not doubt on the possibility of a break through of electric racing. And that deserves a platform to keep up to date and to interact. Tim operates on behalf of Formula Blue Media.


Please enter your comment!

Please enter your name here