Sébastien Buemi has won the Monaco ePrix after starting from pole position. Rival Lucas di Grassi wasn’t able to put the pressure on the Renault e.dams driver.

Buemi got a clear getaway and all drivers survived the first corner, despite some light contact. Di Grassi followed in second and was in front of Nelson Piquet Jr, Jean-Eric Vergne and Nick Heidfeld. Stéphane Sarrazin experienced the worst start of all, dropping down to last followed by José María Lopez who’s rear wing was damaged. The DS Virgin Racing-driver received the black and orange flag and had to pit. But when he came in, team mate Bird just had left after he had to meet his team after clipping the barriers.

Buemi managed to pull a gap of several seconds to Di Grassi, who had a two-second margin over Piquet Jr and Vergne who were fighting for third. Vergne tried a couple of times to pass his rival, but it all went wrong after 21 laps. The Frenchman was on the outside of Piquet Jr in Turn 3 which resulted in a crash as there was not enough room for both cars.

The safety car neutralised the race, which was an opportunity for the drivers to swap vehicles. Once the field continued to battle, Buemi was still in front. Di Grassi followed and was in front of Nick Heidfeld who passed Piquet Jr when the accident happened. Engel was in fifth, followed by Rosenqvist, Abt and Frijns.

In the run to the finish, Buemi seemed to pull a gap but di Grassi launched his final attack in the last six laps. But the Brazilian couldn’t manage to pass his rival and finished the race behind Buemi in second. The Renault e-dams driver won his fourth race out of five races. Heidfeld completed the podium.

Tim is co-founder of ElectricAutosport.com and works in international motorsport. He found his passion for sustainable racing by joining world's first competition for hydrogen electric vehicles in 2008. He does not doubt on the possibility of a break through of electric racing. And that deserves a platform to keep up to date and to interact. Tim operates on behalf of Formula Blue Media.



Please enter your comment!

Please enter your name here