In addition to the usual suspects, a couple of teams are trialling new drivers during the official Formula E pre-season tests at Valencia from 2-5 October.

Mercedes DTM driver Edoardo Mortara will test for Venturi. On Tuesday he will be handing over the car to young Moroccan driver Michael Benyahia in the morning. The second Venturi Formula E vehicle will be piloted by Super GT star James Rossiter and Maro Engel.

Andretti will make use of their current driver Antonio Felix da Costa, test driver Alexander Sims and BMW DTM racer Tom Blomqvist. It seems that the increased influence of BMW will result in a season line-up with BMW factory drivers. 

The 3.09km National Circuit configuration of the track will be used, with an additional chicane inserted on the start/finish straight. Each day of testing will be split into two sessions, with cars running between 9-12 in the morning session and 2-5 in the afternoon.

Team Name   Car # Monday
October 2
October 3
October 5
Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler 1 Lucas di Grassi Lucas di Grassi LucasdDi Grassi
DS Virgin Racing 2 Sam Bird Sam Bird Sam Bird
Panasonic Jaguar Racing 3 Nelson Piquet Jr. Nelson Piquet Jr. Nelson Piquet Jr.
Venturi Formula E Team 4 Edoardo Mortara AM:Michael Benyahia

PM: Edoardo Mortara

Edoardo Mortara
Venturi Formula E Team 5 James Rossiter James Rossiter Maro Engel
Dragon Racing 6 Neel Jani Neel Jani Neel Jani
Dragon Racing 7 Jerome D’Ambrosio Jerome D’Ambrosio Jerome D’Ambrosio
Renault e.dams 8 Nico Prost Nico Prost Nico Prost
Renault e.dams 9 Sebastien Buemi Sebastien Buemi Sebastien Buemi
TECHEETAH 18 Andre Lotterer Andre Lotterer Andre Lotterer
Mahindra Racing 19 Felix Rosenqvist Felix Rosenqvist Felix Rosenqvist
Panasonic Jaguar Racing 20 Mitch Evans Mitch Evans Mitch Evans
Mahindra Racing 23 Nick Heidfeld Nick Heidfeld Daniel Juncadella
TECHEETAH 25 Jean-Eric Vergne Jean-Eric Vergne Jean-Eric Vergne
Andretti Formula E 27 AM: Alexander Sims

PM: Tom Blomqvist

Tom Blomqvist Tom Blomqvist
Andretti Formula E 28 Antonio Felix da Costa Alexander Sims Antonio Felix da Costa
DS Virgin Racing 36 Alex Lynn Alex Lynn Alex Lynn
Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler 66 Daniel Abt Daniel Abt Daniel Abt
NIO Formula E Team 16 Oliver Turvey Oliver Turvey Oliver Turvey
NIO Formula E Team 68 Luca Filippi Luca Filippi Luca Filippi
Tim is co-founder of and works in international motorsport. He found his passion for sustainable racing by joining world's first competition for hydrogen electric vehicles in 2008. He does not doubt on the possibility of a break through of electric racing. And that deserves a platform to keep up to date and to interact. Tim operates on behalf of Formula Blue Media.


Please enter your comment!

Please enter your name here